Askmoses-A Jews Resource
What should I know before purchasing a mezuzah?
Browse our archives

The Scholar is ready to answer your question. Click the button below to chat now.


Scholar Online:

Type in your question here:

Click the button below to either CHAT LIVE with an AskMoses Scholar now - or - leave a message if no Scholar is currently online.

CHAT or LEAVE A MESSAGE

Are flat tortillas or pita bread Kosher for Passover?

by Rabbi Naftali Silberberg

  

Library » Holidays » Passover » Chametz | Subscribe | What is RSS?


PRINT EMAIL COMMENT

No. Despite its flatness, neither a tortilla nor a pita is Kosher for Passover.

1) Whether an item is Chametz or not isn't determined by its flat or thick form. A dough (made of wheat, barely, spelt, rye or oats) which a) contains yeast, or b) whose flour had leavened through contact with water/moisture for more than 18 minutes, is chametz even if the finished product is flat.

2) Other than the flour manufactured specifically for Passover Matzah, all flour today is presumed to be chametz. See Is Flour Kosher for Passover?


ADD A COMMENT

Please email me when new comments are posted (you must be  logged in).
Chametz
Any leavened product which is produced from wheat, barley, rye, spelt or oats. This includes bread, cake, cereals, crackers, biscuits, yeast, pasta and whisky. It is forbidden for a Jew to possess or consume Chametz throughout Passover.
Matzah
(pl. Matzot). Unleavened bread which is eaten on Passover, especially at the Passover Seder (feast), commemorating the Matzah which the Jews ate upon leaving Egypt. It consists of only flour and water and resembles a wheat cracker.
Passover
A Biblically mandated early-spring festival celebrating the Jewish exodus from Egypt in the year 1312 BCE.
Kosher
Literally means "fit." Commonly used to describe foods which are permitted by Jewish dietary laws, but is also used to describe religious articles (such as a Torah scroll or Sukkah) which meet the requirements of Jewish law.