Askmoses-A Jews Resource
Can you give me all the necessary basic information about the Tablets?
Browse our archives

The Scholar is ready to answer your question. Click the button below to chat now.

Scholar Online:

Type in your question here:

Click the button below to either CHAT LIVE with an AskMoses Scholar now - or - leave a message if no Scholar is currently online.


How does one make "Jewish cheese"?

by Rabbi Avraham Gordimer


Library » Mitzvot » Kosher » Miscellaneous | Subscribe | What is RSS?


Some Halachic authorities rule that to satisfy the gevinat Yisrael (Jewish cheese) requirement, a Jewish person must be present to supervise the cheese making and ensure that only Kosher rennet is used; others hold that a Jewish person must personally add the rennet (similar to “bishul Yisrael ” and “pat Yisrael,” which are satisfied only if the Jewish person is actually involved with cooking or baking the food). The OU follows both halachic opinions and insists that rabbinic field representatives supervise all kosher cheese productions and add the rennet as well.

In modern cheese facilities, rennet is often not added manually. Rather, it is dosed into cheese vats via automated rennet feeders. In such cases, the rabbinic field representatives activate the rennet feeders for each vat of cheese produced. Cheese made in Jewish-owned plants is automatically considered gevinat Yisrael, thereby alleviating the need for full-time rabbinic supervision or involvement.1

See How is cheese made kosher?

Republished with permission from


  • 1. Shach on Yoreh Deah 115, s.k. 20.


Please email me when new comments are posted (you must be  logged in).
Pertaining to Jewish Law.
Literally means "fit." Commonly used to describe foods which are permitted by Jewish dietary laws, but is also used to describe religious articles (such as a Torah scroll or Sukkah) which meet the requirements of Jewish law.